“Sri kshetra Horanadu ” is situated on the banks of river Bhadra in a remote corner of chikamaglur dist., Karnataka, surrounded by the natural vegetation, forest, green lands, and natural beauty of the western Ghats. The great deity of adishakthyathmaka Sri Annapoorneshwari prathistapana was done by his holiness Agasthya Maharishi several centuries back. The hereditary Dharmakartharu of our family started 400 years back. Till the 5th Dharmakartharu, the temple was having a very small structure surrounded by full of natural vegetation and forest. Even then at least one or more people used to visit the temple, have pooja and were provided with free food {annaprasadam} and shelter and it is continued till date. The vamshavruksha goes like this 1st Dharmakartharu was Sri D.Shankarnarayana Jois, 2nd was 1st D.S. Bhima Jois, 3rd was 1st D.B. Venkatasubba Jois, 4th was 2nd D.V.Bhima Jois, 5th was 2nd D.B.Venkatasubba Jois, 6th was D.V.Gajendraprasanna Jois and 7th is present Dharmakartharu Sri G.Bheemeshwara Joshy. The 5th Dharmakartharu late D.B.Venkatasubba jois who scarified his complete life in improving not only the temple but also helped the surrounding village people in improving their culture. He started renovating the temple in the year 1962 and completed the temple with fully dressed stone sculpture according to the vastushilpa, astrology and Hindu mythology and “the prathistapana” of sri Adishakthi Devi and ” punaprathistapana” of Sri Annapoorneshwari was celebrated on the auspicious day of “Akshaya Thadige” in the year 1973 and Mahakumbhabhisheka was performed by his holiness Shrimad Jagadhguru Shankaracharya Sri Sri Abhinava Vidyathirtha Mahaswamiji of Dakshinamnaya Sringeri Sharadapeetam, Sringeri. The late D.B.Venkatasubba Jois the 5th Dharmakartharu was honored by his holiness of Sringeri Matha as the “Annapurna pada seva dhurandhara” for his dedicated out standing service rendered to the society through the temple, he died in the year 1982. Late Sri D.V.Gajendraprasanna Jois sworn as the 6th Dharmakartharu by his holiness Sri Sri Swayam Prakasha Abhinava Ramananda Saraswathi Swamiji of Hariharapura Matha, Karnataka, in the year 1981, he constructed the Navagraha Temple and the prathistapana was performed by his holiness Shrimad Jagadhguru Shankaracharya Sri Sri Bharathitheertha Maha Swamiji of Dakshinamnaya Sringeri Sharadapeetam, Sringeri in the year 1991. He established the latest steam cooking system, bathrooms, toilets, annachathra, drainage system in the village, “free brahmopanayana” every year, construction  of rooms to the pilgrims, labour  colony providing free clothes to the temple employees and their family members during the car festival every year, he expired in the year 1991.

Pattabhisheka as Dharmakaratharu


In the holy presence of his holiness Shrimadh Jagadhguru Shankaracharya Sri Gokarnamadaladeesha Sri Sri Raghavendra Bharathi Swamiji of Hosanagar Matha , Karnataka, and with the blessing of his holiness Shrimadh Jagadhguru Shankaracharya Sri Sri Bharathitheertha Maha Swamiji of Sringeri Sharadapeetam, Sri G.Bheemeshwara Joshy sworn as the hereditary “7th Dharmakartharu” of Sri Adishakthyathmaka Annapoorneshwari Temple 0n 21.10.1991.

Public Activities

Public Activities:


1 Served as The Past State Vice President, State Director of Indian Junior Chamber International, Karnataka.
2 Attended State And National Conferences, Award Judging Panel,
Member of The National Conference Held At Bombay & Vishakhapatnam
3 Special Invitee of Thirhtarajapura Havyaka Seema Parishath, Karnataka
4 Director of Havyaka Mahasabha Thirthahalli, Karnataka
5 President of Brahmana Mahasabha Kalasa, Karnataka.
6 President of Sri Rama Seva Samithi Kalasa, Karnataka.
8 State Trainer for Conducting Classes Regarding Public Relation, Human Relation, Communication and Time Management, Etc
9 Served as Dharmadharshi of Sri Kalaseshwara Swamy Temple, Kalasa, Karnataka for a Period of 6 Years.
10 Served as President of Ramayana Mahasathra Samithi held from 14-04-2006 to 23-04-2004 at Sri Ramachandrapura Matha, Hosanagar, Karnataka
11 Attended as Invitee in Various Religious, Social, Cultural and Other Public Functions since 1991 held at more than 700 places including major cities, towns and villages in Karnataka, Mumbai and Kerala
12 Visited various pilgrimage centers including Mount Kailas, Manasa-Sarovar, Badari, Kedar, Amaranath Cave, Pashupathinath Temple of Nepal, Varanasi, Gaya, Prayag, Thirupathi, Kanchipuram and Kanyakumari

Awards and Facilitations

Awards and Facilitations

1 Winner of National Award Indira Gandhi Priyadharshini Award-97 by Former President Sri Shankar Dayal Sharma
2 Winner of District Award Karnataka Rajyothsava Award-2001, Chikamaglur
3 Winner of Winner of Krishi Awardat Taluk and District Level
4 Winner of “Krishnanugraha Award” by Pejavara And Kaniyur Matadhishas, Udupi
5 Winner of Samaja Rathna Award by Jains Community, Horanadu
6 Winner of Karnataka Vikasa Rathna Award by Kala Navaranga Trust, Bangalore
7 Winner of Havyaka Thilaka Award by Havyaka Parishath
8 Winner of Nithya Dasohi Award by Tharikere Taluk Kannada Sahithya Parishath, Tharikere, Chikamaglur Dist
9 Winner of Nethaji Seva Award by Nethaji Seva Trust, Bangalore
10 Winner of Prestigious State Level Karnataka Rajyothsava Award-2005 by Govt. of Karnataka
11 Honored by Different organisations of Karnataka